A is for Avocado Toast

A is for Avocado Toast

I hope everyone enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday with good food and time with their families! I spent the day cooking in the kitchen with my family and wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. While I know you are enjoying your days of leftovers, if you are looking for something light to break the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes pattern, I have just the thing for you! Avocado toast!

While very simple in its nature, avocado toast is one of my favorite dishes to eat. I will eat it for breakfast, lunch, or even as a midday snack. I crave it on a regular basis and if this item is on the menu at a coffee shop or brunch spot, you better believe that I will be ordering it pronto. What I have presented for you is the most basic of recipes for this dish, but it highlights the star ingredient, avocado. As a true Californian, I eat avocado a few times a week and substitute it as a condiment on a sandwich or in place of sour cream on my enchiladas or tacos; it adds creaminess without adding too many extra calories. The creaminess of the avocado is balanced with the crunch of the toast and sprinkles of sea salt and cracked pepper. Mastered the basics of this recipe and want to bring your toast game to the next level? Dress this recipe up with some diced sweet peppers or a bacon crumble.

As for me, I’ll be keeping it light and easy, with a cup of coffee and a crossword. Happy Sunday everyone!

Ingredients

  • 2 slices of sourdough bread
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • Olive oil for drizzling
  • Sea salt and cracked pepper

Preparation

  • Lightly toast sourdough bread so that it is warmed through and just starting to crisp.
  • While the bread is toasting, thinly slice the avocado.
    • If you want to speed up this process, you can add the avocado to a bowl and slightly mash it in place of slicing it.
  • Place avocado on toast, lightly drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with sea salt and pepper.
  • That’s all there is to it! Simple and tasty 🙂

4 thoughts on “A is for Avocado Toast

Leave a comment