Faux Flatbread

Faux Flatbread

This week’s recipe is brought to you by the letter F! I know what you’re thinking, that sure looks like a flatbread, why the faux? Well, I’ll let you in on a little secret…I didn’t make the dough from scratch. I used naan bread in its place which is technically an Indian flatbread so maybe I need to give myself a little more credit. When I started planning this recipe I was really ambitious and looked up various flatbread recipes for the grill, looking for an alternative to my favorite pizza dough recipe. After some research I decided that I wanted a flatbread dish that was going to be quick for a light weeknight dinner or easy to whip up as an appetizer for an impromptu game night.

I gave myself the challenge of attempting to put the dish together with ingredients I already had on hand; think of it as a Quick Fire Challenge from Top Chef. As I always have naan bread in the freezer (thank you Trader Joe’s!), I decided that was going to be my base. I searched the fridge and found leftover ricotta cheese and basil, and waaaaay in the back of my pantry I found some pine nuts, score! Staying true to the “quick” part of this challenge, I popped the naan bread into my toaster oven instead of the regular oven, my stomach was telling me we did not have time to wait for it to preheat. After the naan bread had heated through, which took all of five minutes, I added a few tablespoons of ricotta cheese, sprinkled on the chopped basil, pine nuts, and finished it off with a drizzle of olive oil and dash of pepper. Viola! One thing to remember when putting together a flatbread dish is that you should err on the lighter side of ingredients. Unlike its cousin the pizza, flatbreads are not weighed down with heavy sauces and hearty toppings.

So now I challenge you to create your own faux flatbread! I would love to hear what you come up with!

One thought on “Faux Flatbread

Leave a Reply

