Happy New Year!

Happy New Year Cinnamon Rolls

Happy New Year everyone! Made that list of resolutions for 2016 yet? On my list as always is to continue learning in the kitchen and there’s no time like the present to get a jump-start on that. Today’s lesson was how to use the slow cooker for something other than a savory dish. Sally’s Baking Addiction posted a recipe for cinnamon rolls (yes, CINNAMON ROLLS) in the slow cooker and I just had to give it a try!

Cinnamon Roll Collage

This recipe was easy to follow and the dough came together in about 30 minutes. From there, the slow cooker did the rest of the work which allowed me to lazily sip my coffee and watch the New Year’s Day Rose Parade with the smell of cinnamon rolls cooking in the background. My slow cooker is slightly larger than the one used in the original recipe so I increased my cooking time to 2 hours and 30 minutes. I also highly recommend Sally’s suggestion of popping these in the oven for a few minutes to crisp up the top a bit. While I do love spending the day in the kitchen and have made cinnamon rolls the traditional way (with the many time consuming rising periods), this recipe is great for a quick cinnamon roll fix. I am definitely adding this one to my brunch menu rotation!

What are your New Year’s resolutions? How do you like to spend January 1st?

Cheers to the new year!

Recipe featured on Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

