Bruschetta BLT Toast

BLT Bruschetta Toast

Apparently the only good thing to come from this summer heat wave is that my balcony garden is flourishing. My little basil seedlings have taken off and my cherry tomato plant is FINALLY starting to flower! With this little budding garden, there is one recipe that comes to mind, bruschetta. This refreshing appetizer is great on a hot summer day and while I would like to convince myself that eating a whole bowl of bruschetta atop crackers is a complete dinner, I suppose I need something with a little more substance. I decided to pair fresh bruschetta with my favorite sandwich, the BLT, and the result was nothing short of a sandwich miracle!

Since my garden tomatoes were far from sandwich ready, I headed to Gelson’s where I discovered strawberry tomatoes. Similar to a cherry tomato, these were slightly larger and came to a point much like a strawberry, a fun find that I just had to try. This was the second new veggie/fruit find in the past month at Gelson’s, earlier this month I discovered cotton candy grapes. Oh yes, you heard me right, COTTON CANDY grapes. To the passerby, these grapes look just like a normal green grape, but once you taste these, you are instantly transported to a county fair. I don’t know how they did it, but this is a genius idea to get kids to eat fruit. Okay, side rant over, back to the sandwich!

Using the classic BLT of iceberg lettuce and sliced tomato as a reference, I made several modifications to tailor it for my specific tastes. No offense iceberg lettuce, but I find arugula adds a welcoming bitterness and smashed avocado is a necessary addition to any sandwich, I mean I’ll add avocado to anything really 🙂 Goodbye sliced tomatoes and hello fresh bruschetta complete with homegrown basil, balcony garden for the win! And there you have it, from diner classic to a light and refreshing fancy-time bruschetta BLT toast. Happy munching!

Ingredients

  • 5 strawberry or cherry tomatoes
  • 3 large fresh basil leaves
  • 1/8 teaspoon basalmic vinegar
  • 1/8 teaspoon olive oil
  • sprinkle of pepper
  • 2 slices of bread (featured: french bread)
  • 1 teaspoon mayonaisse
  • 3 slices of bacon
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 cup arugula

Making your BLT

  • Roughly chop basil into dime-sized bits.
  • Halve and then quarter your tomatoes.
  • Toss chopped basil and chopped tomatoes in a small bowl with the vinegar, oil, and pepper. Let sit refrigerated while you assemble the rest of the sandwich.
  • Cook bacon according to package instructions. I used thick center-cut bacon and cooked for slightly longer than directed to get an extra crisp on it.
  • Chop each bacon slice into six pieces.
  • Place avocado half in a small bowl and lightly smash with a fork, you are essentially making an avocado spread.
  • Lightly toast bread slices in toaster just long enough to get  a slight crunch on it, but not too long or else your toast will crumble while eating and the roof of your mouth will take a beating; open-face sandwich eating should not be a dangerous business!
  • Assembling the sandwich: On each toast slice, spread 1/2 teaspoon mayo, sprinkle half of the chopped bacon, spread half of the smashed avocado, add 1/4 cup arugula and top with half of the bruschetta.
  • Sprinkle with additional pepper if desired and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

