Baker’s Secret Tool to Perfect Muffins

Bran Muffins

I love to bake, yes even in the heat of summer, and I used to come up with creative ways to fill up my muffin cups to get that 2/3 fill for the perfect muffin. I would fill pastry bags with the batter which worked pretty well until it came time to refill the bag and all bets were off, the kitchen looked like a battle zone by the end of my muffin venture. After working at a bakery one summer I realized they sold ice-cream-like batter scoops for the three different standard sized muffins and while these worked really well, I did not have room in my dinky apartment kitchen to store these novelty scoops. Alas I continued with my pastry bag ways until I discovered the Wilton Scoop-It Batter Spoons! Not only do these three scoops come in fun colors, they stack into each other, saving space in the kitchen. These were a must-have for sure! Coming in the three standard muffin sizes, mini, regular, and jumbo, these scoops are lined with a rubber edge which makes them great for scraping down the sides of a bowl lined with batter. To use these scoops is a cinch; fill it up, level it off, and pour into your muffin pan!They give the perfect fill to your muffin cups for identical muffins (or cupcakes) each time, no more guesswork in this kitchen. Sorry pastry bags, back to frosting you go, there’s a new tool in town!

Wilton Scoop-It Batter Spoons: http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=2103-1112

Featured recipe: Whole Grain Honey Bran Muffins, http://www.melskitchencafe.com/whole-grain-honey-bran-muffins/

 

 

Leave a Reply

