Let’s Get Grillin’ Veggie Tacos

Grilled Veggie Tacos

Yay it’s summertime! Longer days, popsicles and lemonade, and best of all, food from the grill! I love all things barbecued and grilled. There is just something about a little smoke and char that really brings out the natural flavors in food; you really don’t need to add much else to enjoy them. While my apartment complex does not have a grilling area and my balcony is way too small for me to own one, I did receive the bestest Christmas gift a grill-loving, apartment dwelling girl could ask for: a grilling pan. Okay, so I don’t quite get the full effect of the smoke, but I definitely can achieve sear-line greatness with this thing. With the winter and spring months behind me, I thought it was about time to break this thing out and see what it could really do!

First up on the grill, veggie tacos! Remembering that It is still summer and the one downside to grilling, especially inside, is that it gets warm really fast, I thought it best to go with a quick recipe this first time round. Veggie tacos are light and fresh and you really don’t need to season them with much as the grilling brings out their natural, bright flavors. When composing a taco made solely of vegetables, I try to choose ones that have different textures and colors so as to not be one note in the taste department. I like to retain the crispness of the veggies when grilling, so I only grill them long enough to where they start to soften and get a nice sear, about three minutes per side. If you are looking for a more “well-done” veggie, I suggest increasing your cook time. Next we have the tortilla. I know what you’re thinking, corn tortillas are often flimsy and fall apart, why did I not double up in the tortilla department? My answer: La Tortilla Factory Handmade Style Tortillas. This company uses a blend of corn and wheat flour in their tortillas so you get the taste of a corn tortilla, but the heartiness of a flour tortilla. It really is the best of both worlds and I highly recommend them! All that’s left are your garnishes, a little queso fresco, squeeze of lime juice, avocado slice (of course!), and a dash of salsa.

You can have a light, healthy meal and spend less than twenty minutes in the kitchen so you can go and enjoy your summer evening! Happy grilling!

Ingredients

  • 3-inch piece of zucchini, cut into sixths
  • 2 quarter-inch round slices of yellow onion
  • 3 mini sweet peppers, quartered
  • 1 teaspoon of olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 small corn tortillas (I used La Tortilla Factory handmade yellow corn tortillas)
  • Optional Garnishes: queso fresco, avocado slices, salsa (I used my new obsession, Hatch Green Chile salsa from Trader Joe’s), sliced lime

Let’s Get Grillin’

  • In a small bowl, gently toss the cut veggies with the olive oil and cumin until evenly coated.
  • Preheat grill pan or grill over medium heat.
  • Grill is ready to go when water droplets sizzle on it.
  • Evenly distribute the veggies in a single layer on the grill.
  • Cook the veggies for 3 minutes undisturbed.
  • Flip the veggies and cook for an additional 3 minutes.
  • Remove the cooked veggies from the grill and turn off the stove/grill.
  • Heat tortillas on the warmed grill for 15 seconds on each side.
  • Fill your tortillas up with the grilled veggies and desired garnishes!

 

One thought on “Let’s Get Grillin’ Veggie Tacos

Leave a Reply

