(Almost Like) Grandma’s Strata

Egg Strata

We all have those dishes that the taste or even just the smell of them brings back childhood memories. For me, one of those recipes is my grandma’s sausage and cheese strata. This simple, but oh so tasty dish was made only for Christmas brunch which helps justify the calories and inevitable second helping. In the spirit of Christmas in July, I thought I would try my hand at this family recipe and work my magic to make it one serving. I did not have the energy in this California heat to make a trip to the store so I substituted the cheese and spice with what I had on hand and while it still tasted good, next time I will stick to the original tried and true recipe. Grandma knew best 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 slices of white bread, crusts removed and cubed (1 cup overflowing)
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese (I used monterey jack, but grandma used cheddar cheese and that is definitely the way to go!)
  • 3 sausage links
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • pinch of paprika (grandma used dry mustard, once again, I suggest using this!)

Making the Strata

  • Brown sausage and slice into 1/2 pieces.
    • You can also use fully cooked sausage to speed up the process, but it will lack the crispy brown edges.
  • In an ungreased small casserole dish (I used my french onion soup dish that is 4.5 inches wide by 2 inches in height), make two layers of the bread cubes, cheese, and cooked sausage.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, salt and paprika.
  • Pour egg mixture over bread, cheese, and sausage layers.
  • Cover dish with foil and refrigerate for at least one hour, up to overnight.
  • Cook strata at 350F for 30 minutes with the foil on, 20 minutes with the foil removed.
  • Let the strata sit for 5 minutes before digging in!

 

 

One thought on “(Almost Like) Grandma’s Strata

Leave a Reply

