Let’s Make Pasta!

20150324_193257

Time to take a dive back into pasta! After my ramen experience and seeing how easy it was to put together pasta dough, I decided it was time to turn my full attention towards the process of pasta making. Why you may ask would I want to put myself through this when there is ready-made dried pasta at the store that can make quick work of a week night dinner? My answer: no dried pasta in any store can beat the taste of homemade pasta and as a wise rat in Ratatouille once said, “If you are what you eat, then I only want to eat the good stuff.” Now I’m not going to resort to only fresh pasta from this point forward, but it’s a nice trick to have up your sleeve 🙂

One of my favorite pieces of equipment in my kitchen is my Kitchen Aid mixer because it is so versatile and makes easy work of tedious tasks when it comes to baking. I know there are quite a few attachments for these machines and upon deciding that I wanted to try my hand at making pasta again, naturally I turned to browsing pasta attachments for the mixer. After a quick search online, I quickly remembered that Kitchen Aid products are not quite for experiments and that I needed to look for something a bit more economical. Round two of my search brought me to Bed, Bath, and Beyond where I picked up the cutest pasta machine more in my beginner’s price range and small enough for easy storage in my shrinking small apartment kitchen (http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/my-perfect-kitchen-pasta-machine/3242301?Keyword=pasta+maker). With this shiny, new piece of equipment in hand, I was ready to get started!

I follow many food blogs, a favorite of which is Serious Eats. Whenever I am looking for step by step instructions on how to make something, I turn to their website (www.seriouseats.com) and it does not disappoint. I had saved a post on making pasta from back in January and was excited to finally make sense of it all. I have posted the link to their recipe at the end of this post so you can follow the exact steps I did on my pasta making adventure.

Now to share a few thoughts on the matter of making pasta from my experience to keep in mind if you embark on this experiment as well. First off, making pasta is quite fun! You mix your dough right on your (cleaned) counter-top or cutting board; no bowls, whisks, wooden spoons necessary! Just a fork and your hands and you are good to go. After allowing your dough to rest, you then get to crank it through your pasta machine to form a thin long sheet of pasta; I felt like I was back in preschool playing with Playdough, it was so easy! Since this recipe makes more than one serving of pasta, I split the noodles into three “nests” and froze two for the future. Now that my freezer is stocked with homemade pasta and sauce, future dinners can be prepped with ease. Ahhh, enjoying the fruits of one’s labor is a sweet victory!

Buon appetito!

Pasta Process

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour plus more for sprinkling on your work surface
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 additional yolks from large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Steps to Fresh Pasta

  • I followed the exact procedure from this Serious Eats post on fresh pasta: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2015/01/fresh-egg-pasta.html
  • Each step is very straightforward and most are accompanied by pictures so you can check yourself along the way.
  • Take a deep breath, roll up those sleeves, set aside 2 hours, and work your way towards a fresh pasta dinner! Let me know how it goes!
One thought on “Let’s Make Pasta!

Leave a Reply

