Pleasantly Simple Pea Soup

20141230_190457

Happy New Year! After a holiday season of eating all the sweets and treats in sight, this weekend it was time to rein it in and eat something on the lighter side. With frozen peas in the freezer and leftover ham from Christmas dinner in the fridge, there was only one thing on my mind…pea soup!

Having only made broth-based soups in the past, I decided to be adventurous and try my hand at a pureed vegetable soup. I cooked down the frozen peas in chicken broth with onions and a few seasonings, stuck it in a food processor and added some heavy cream. The result, a lighter pea soup compared to the traditional one you find in restaurants, but it was just what I was hoping for after weeks of heavy holiday dinners. This recipe produced one bowl of soup so if you are hoping for leftovers, I suggest doubling it. I enjoyed this soup with a handful of Almond Nut-Thins (my new favorite gluten-free cracker!), but it would pair nicely with a panini as well.

I love it when experiments in the kitchen are a success 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3/4 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup diced white onion
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 2 cups water
  • 3/4 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground thyme
  • 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped ham
  • pepper to taste

Simple Steps for Soup

  • melt slab of butter in medium sauce pan over medium heat
  • reduce heat to medium-low and add diced onions, cook until softened
  • add water, bouillon cube, peas, thyme and garlic powder
  • turn up to medium heat, bring to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally
  • add the cooked soup to a food processor and puree until smooth
  • return pureed soup to sauce pan, add ham and heavy cream, and stir to combine
  • over low heat, reduce soup for about 5 minutes until slightly thickened
  • pepper to taste and enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Pleasantly Simple Pea Soup

  1. This is a great simple recipe I plan to make next week!

    Because I never really know, I plan to replace the diced onion with onion powder, and I know I have to (and always do) reduce the amount to tbs or tsp when changing the ingredient from raw to powder, but what do you think 2 tsp of onion powder to replace 2/3 c diced onion (I’m doubling it)?

    Like

Leave a Reply

