Roasted Sweet Pepper Tomato Sauce

6507853908545951757

Sometimes ingredients are sold in large quantities and there is nothing you can do to avoid buying in bulk. The solution? Come up with recipes to use up the ingredient before it goes to waste!

Sweet peppers usually come in a large bag and while I do love these vitamin C packed veggies, I am only one person and no single serving recipe could make use of every last pepper in the bag. Last week, I made Italian sausage with onions and sweet peppers and I promised I would show you how to use the rest of them up. In keeping my promise, I present to you roasted sweet pepper tomato sauce.

I have been making my own tomato sauce for almost two years now because I find it to be more cost-effective as I can make a huge batch and freeze it in single serving containers. I also just prefer the taste of homemade sauce and the less preservatives I eat, the better I suppose 🙂 Since I had sweet peppers on hand, I decided to kick up my tomato sauce game and add these little guys. Roasting the sweet peppers in the oven brings an added flavor and if you have extra on hand, I suggest putting of few on a sandwich or in an omelette! The sweet aroma of this simmering sauce made me want to skip breakfast and move right into dinner as I could not wait to use it on some pasta. This recipe is quick and easy and allows you to prolong the “shelf life’ of your peppers. Waste not my single chefs!

20140928_113408

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 13 Sweet peppers
  • ¼ of a white onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 5 tomatoes from a 28oz can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • Olive oil for drizzle
  • ¼ cup of heavy cream
  • dash of dried basil
  • dash of spicy red pepper flakes

Making the Sauce

  • preheat oven to 500F
  • rinse and dry sweet peppers and place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet
  • bake peppers for 10-15 minutes, flipping each pepper after 7 minutes, until slightly blackened and skin has broken in areas due to stretching
  • remove the peppers from pan, place in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap to steam them
  • while peppers are steaming, roughly chop onion, garlic, and tomatoes
  • carefully roughly chop the peppers, removing the stem but keeping the seeds intact. I suggest using tongs or a fork to hold the peppers in place while you chop them as they will still be very hot!
  • drizzle olive oil into a large sauce pan to coat and place heat on medium
  • once pan is heated throughout, add onion and saute for three minutes
  • add garlic and continue cooking for two minutes
  • add the tomatoes and peppers and cook for an additional 2 to 3 minutes to marry the flavors
  • remove veggies from heat and place in a food processor or blender
  • pulse a few times to roughly chop and then blend the veggie mixture until no large chunks remain and it resembles a fine pulp
  • add the newly blended mixture back into the same sauce pan and heat on medium-low
  • add the heavy cream, dried basil and spicy red pepper flakes and whisk until cream has been fully incorporated
  • continue cooking on medium-low heat for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally
  • remove pan from heat and allow to cool for 5 minutes
  • using a ladle, evenly distribute sauce between 3  9.5 oz containers for a single portion serving of the sauce
  • let sauce cool completely and place in the fridge if using immediately or freezer with a label of what it is and the date it was frozen if saving for future use
4 thoughts on “Roasted Sweet Pepper Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

