Happy Birthday to The Kitchen for One!

Tiered Lemon Cake

Today officially marks one year from the launch of The Kitchen for One and I couldn’t be more excited! I just wanted to say a BIG thank you to all of the readers out there for visiting my blog, trying out my recipes, and inspiring me to continue having fun in the kitchen.

To mark the one year anniversary of the blog, I am going to embark on a new series of recipes inspired by the alphabet (you can tell that I work at a school can’t you?). I am going to start with the letter A and go all the way to Z sharing my favorite recipes and testing out ingredients that I have never used before, but have always been curious to try. Should be an interesting adventure to say the least!

Celebrating today though I just had to make a cake that has been on my mind for a few years now. Yes, I think about cakes and all sorts of recipes during my long commute every day, helps pass the time…no judging! The cake in my dreams you ask? A lemon tiered cake with a lemon curd and whipped cream frosting. That’s right….MMMMMM! I tried making this cake once before and well, it did not go as planned so I have been a little gun-shy to attempt it again. But I had to go big for the blog birthday so I put my big girl apron on and went for it. No cake falling over, no lemon curd dripping down the sides, everything went off without a hitch. Success! The cake as a whole is pulled from three different recipes which I have listed below if you want to recreate this oh so tasty cake.

Here’s to another great year of sharing recipes from my little apartment kitchen for one!

Cake Recipe

Cake: http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2014/03/perfect-triple-lemon-cupcakes/

Lemon curd: http://www.glorioustreats.com/2012/01/homemade-lemon-curd-recipe.html

Whipped cream: http://www.errenskitchen.com/how-to-make-whipped-cream-that-holds-its-shape-for-days/

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to The Kitchen for One!

Leave a comment